Jim Withington's Blog

Home

Conferencing, Talking, Learning

I just submitted a talk for SquiggleConf, a conference about web dev tooling. In a way that, to me, feels very like me, it's not about electronic tools at all.

I submitted a talk about intuition as your best tool.


One of the luckiest, best decisions I made in 2020 was signing up for Jocelyn K. Glei's Hi-Fi course, a course that, at that time, was something like 5 or 6 months long, running from (I believe) around April 2020 until September or so.

Those months were...interesting, if you recall.


But the class? All about intuition.

About tapping into something deeper than the surface. Things lieke:

It wasn't all woo-woo stuff, though I have to say, the woo-woo stuff really helped.

It left a mark on me, and when I'm struggling, it feels a bit like I've lost my way as far as my intuition.

So, for a conference like SquiggleConf that will likely have a lot to say about productivity tools, new AI stuff, and VS Code extensions, I of course thought, "What if the best tool is your own gut feeling?"

We'll see if the talk gets accepted -- but I'm pretty sure I'll be submitting it elsewhere, either way. 😀

A postcard-sized collage made of images and text torn from old New Yorker magazines, with some colored pencil scribbles around it